thoughts..r.un..n.in..g


Oh, color!
November 25, 2008, 9:14 pm
Filed under: babble, just life

The whole world, as we experience it visually, comes to us through the mystic realm of color.” –Hans Hofmann

Sometimes I wish I was one of those cool people who can say “oh, I don’t watch TV, I don’t even have one.” The fact is that even though I don’t watch that much TV, it’s on most of the time when I’m home. I like the sound, I like the moving picture. When I do pay attention to the screen, I watch a fair amount of live sports, news, and a few guilty pleasure shows.

I discovered that my TV has contracted jaundice one weekday morning back in September when I turned it on to watch my morning news shows, and everyone’s face was yellowish green. I instantly reacted with denial–something’s wrong with the cable. I waited until the afternoon, believing that many customers must have called in to the cable company by then to complain, and the problem must be resolved soon, if not already. With one click, I entered the acceptance stage–my TV is sick, and it, like me, has no insurance to get medical help.

img_00014

Since yellowish green is not very pleasant to the eye, I turned the color down as if turning back time to an old-fashioned black & white television.  The novelty of old times wore off in about two weeks. Cooking and fashion shows were uninspiring for obvious reasons, I couldn’t even watch one of the movies because an important detail is supposedly the heroine’s changes in hair color.

We finally got a new used TV last night! We went from a 21″ to 27″, which is huge for our matchbox living room. It almost feels like sitting in the front row of a movie theater. Size, however, does not matter to me (really). What matters is, like a certain automotive commercial says, “when you turn it on, does it return the favor?” It did today.

photo-41

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

